Warning: Declaration of AVH_Walker_Category_Checklist::walk($elements, $max_depth) should be compatible with Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth, ...$args) in /home/customer/www/alttox.org/public_html/wp-content/plugins/extended-categories-widget/4.2/class/avh-ec.widgets.php on line 62

Warning: Declaration of AVH_Walker_CategoryDropdown::walk($elements, $max_depth) should be compatible with Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth, ...$args) in /home/customer/www/alttox.org/public_html/wp-content/plugins/extended-categories-widget/4.2/class/avh-ec.core.php on line 876

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/customer/www/alttox.org/public_html/wp-content/plugins/extended-categories-widget/4.2/class/avh-ec.widgets.php:0) in /home/customer/www/alttox.org/public_html/wp-content/plugins/sg-cachepress/core/Supercacher/Supercacher_Helper.php on line 77
India Government Overview | AltTox.org

India Government Overview

India: Programs & Policies

India Government Overview

Last updated: January 25, 2016

The Republic of India is a federation of 29 states and 7 union territories. It has a parliamentary government, organized under the Constitution of India.

The Indian Parliament consists of two Houses – Rajya Sabha (Council of States/Upper House) and Lok Sabha (House of the People/Lower House). While the President is the head of the state, the Prime Minister, as head of the Central or Union government, exercises the most executive power.

The Central Government is formed by the party holding the majority of seats at the Lok Sabha. Each state is also governed by State Governments elected through State Legislative assembly elections. The Chief Minister is the Head of the State Government. The power to govern the states is divided between the state and the central governments.

The Central Government governs the country with the help of its numerous ministries, departments, and agencies. The Government consists of Cabinet Minister (who must be a member of either the Upper House or the Lower House), Minister of States (who reports to Cabinet of Ministers) and Minister of States (Independent Charge).